top of page

Teacher of the Year Nomination Form 2023-2024
All West County Teachers are Eligible (Grades K-12)

The Sebastopol Rotary Education Foundation seeks nominations for the most outstanding West Sonoma County teachers. 

Three Teachers to be Selected: This year awards will go to four (4) teachers, one in each of these categories:

  • New Teacher

  • Innovative/Collaborative Teachers (two (2) or more) *

  • Career Service Teacher

*Innovative/Collaborative Teachers Nomination: You may nominate a group of teachers. We have changed the nomination form to allow this option. You will still need to identify one key teacher from one school, but you can then add additional teacher names as part of the group that you want recognized. 


New Teacher Award: We want to honor one new teacher, with four (4) or fewer years in the profession. New teachers often face daunting challenges as they come to grips with the task of actually educating students in the classroom. Too often, their effort is unrecognized. We'd like to correct that so that you have the opportunity to show one of your new teachers how much you respect the effort they are putting in to become a great educator. 

Innovative/Collaborative Teacher(s) Award: The second category honors a teacher who has promoted an innovation or creative approach that has had a material impact on your school or district. We appreciate that between the introduction of new technologies, unexpected challenges, and new obligations, schools are constantly searching for creative solutions that improve the quality of the education they offer to students. Management experts like to point out that some of the best ideas come from the bottom up. We agree and want to encourage your teachers to offer ideas and insights that make what you do better. 


As noted above, we are offering two options for the the Innovative Teacher category: you may nominate an individual teacher, or a group of teachers. The nomination form allows both options. 

Career Service Teacher Award: The third teacher honoree will be selected based on our historic criteria. They may come from an elementary, middle or high school, and has had a long, valued career at your school.  A Career Service Teacher will honor five (5) years or more in the teaching profession, has a had a long and valued career in your school or district.


Nominations closed on Friday, March 15, 2024 at midnight.

Thank you to all those who took the time to provide a nomination.




Allie Brown, Career Service Teacher, Gravenstein Elementary School

Jeanne Guerinoni, Career Service Teacher, Apple Blossom School

Casey Jones, New Teacher, Analy High School

Britt Machado, Innovative Teacher, Brook Haven Middle School



Sally Briggs, Career Service Teacher, Apple Blossom School

Mei Ibach, New Teacher, West County High School

Andy Del Monte and Walt Hays, Innovative Teachers, West County High School



Sergio Blanco, Career Service Teacher, Hillcrest Middle School

Jennifer Tsurumoto, New Teacher, Parkside & Brook Haven Schools

Kate Crandall, Beth Trivunovic, Kory Van Dyke and Sally Redfern, Innovative Teachers, Gravenstein Elementary School


Julie Aiello, Kindergarten, Parkside School
Tim Forslund, Social Studies, Analy High School
Amanda Reece, Special Education, West Sonoma County Special Education Consortium
Sonoma West Times Article


Jolene Johnson, Dance Teacher, El Molino High School
Karen McKenna, 6th Grade English and History, Twin Hills Middle School
Jeff Stucker, 6th Grade English and History, Brook Haven School
Sonoma West Times Article


​Kate O'Brien,Kindergarten,  Sunridge School
Sara Gramm, 3rd Grade, Parkside School
Adam Alcorn, Special Education, Analy High School
Sonoma West Times Article


Nicole Ellwood, Special Education Twin Hills Middle School
Katya Robinson, West Sonoma County Special Education Consortium
Walt Hayes, Applied Arts & Technology, Analy High School
Sonoma West Times Article


​Sunny Galbraith, Orchard View School
Greg Corby, Brook Haven School
Mike Roan, El Molino High School
Sonoma West Times Article


Mary Fitch, Physical Sciences, Twin Hills Charter School
Sarah Prosser, 4th Grade, Sun Ridge Waldorf School
Lynn Stewart, English Language Learners, El Molino High School


Andy DelMonte, Choir, Analy High School
John Thomas, English, El Molino High School


Gianna De Persis Vona, English, Laguna High School
Rachel Lasek, Math, El Molino High School


Joe Compagno, Science, Analy High School
Vance Regan, Instrumental Music, Analy High School


Bill Olzman, Social Studies/English, El Molino High School
Lynette Williamson, English/Rhetoric, Analy High School


John Grech, Social Studies, El Molino High School
Cathy Wiese, Special Eduaction, Analy High School

bottom of page